Repository logo

Creative Alaska: a ten-year retrospective of support for Alaska artists, 2004-2013

dc.contributor.authorHaakanson, Sven D., Jr., editor
dc.contributor.authorSteffian, Amy F., editor
dc.contributor.authorUniversity of Alaska Press, publisher
dc.descriptionIncludes bibliographical references and index.
dc.descriptionA Project of the Rasmuson Foundation.
dc.description.abstractAlaska has long been a nurturing home for artists, with its stunning natural beauty, rich cultural life, and unique communities. In recent years, artists in Alaska have had an additional source of support: the awarding of annual grants to craftsmen, musicians, performers, visual artists, and writers by the Rasmuson Foundation. Creative Alaska profiles the award winners from 2004 to 2013 in three categories: Distinguished Artists, Fellowships, and Project Awards. Richly illustrated accounts of each of the artists and their work illuminate the challenges and opportunities of the artistic life in Alaska and the powerful impact of the Rasmuson Foundation's support.--Provided by publisher.
dc.description.tableofcontentsForeword by Diane Kaplan and Jayson Smart -- Introduction -- Chapter 1. Distinguished Artist Awards -- Sylvester Anaiyuk Ayek, 2004 -- John Haines, 2005 -- Delores Churchill, 2006 -- Rie Muñoz, 2007 -- Ron Senungetuk, 2008 -- Nathan Jackson, 2009 -- John Luther Adams, 2010 -- Ray Troll, 2011 -- Kesler Woodward, 2012 -- Teri Rofkar, 2013 -- Chapter 2. Fellowships -- 2004 -- 2005 -- 2006 -- 2007 -- 2008 -- 2009 -- 2010 -- 2011 -- 2012 -- 2013 -- Chapter 3. Project Awards -- 2004 -- 2005 -- 2006 -- 2007 -- 2008 -- 2009 -- 2010 -- 2011 -- 2012 -- 2013.
dc.format.mediumborn digital
dc.publisherColorado State University. Libraries
dc.relation.ispartofUniversity of Alaska Press
dc.rightsCopyright and other restrictions may apply. User is responsible for compliance with all applicable laws. For information about copyright law, please see
dc.rightsAll rights reserved. User is responsible for compliance. Please contact University Press of Colorado at for use information.
dc.rights.accessAccess is limited to the Adams State University, Colorado State University, Colorado State University Pueblo, Community College of Denver, Fort Lewis College, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Regis University, University of Alaska Fairbanks, University of Colorado Boulder, University of Colorado Colorado Springs, University of Colorado Denver, University of Denver, University of Northern Colorado, University of Wyoming, Utah State University and Western Colorado University communities only.
dc.subjectRasmuson Foundation
dc.subject.lcshArts -- Alaska -- Endowments
dc.subject.lcshArtists -- Scholarships, fellowships, etc. -- Alaska
dc.titleCreative Alaska: a ten-year retrospective of support for Alaska artists, 2004-2013


Original bundle
Now showing 1 - 1 of 1
No Thumbnail Available
43.74 MB
Adobe Portable Document Format
UPC Members only